hildeguardog's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No Cold Winters

We watched the stars through the smog and light infested sky in the 4400 block of Spaulding. In the Big Dipper, the fourth star going down was even more faint than usual. There was a breeze so I let her wear my Jimmy Eat World hoodie while I sat against her in jeans, my favorite t-shirt, and my 'Just Go! to School' hat.

Dawn opened up upon Chicago's sky 6 hours later. I slipped on my blue and orange Puma's and told my sleeping beauty I was in need of some fresh air. Before I asked her to join she said she wouldn't let me go alone. She was huddled tight but my goosebumps were more noticeable.

We were faced west to view a sunrise in the Western Hemisphere. Light crept up from behind us and lit the flight pattern we had been keeping an eye on. Flocks of innocent birds crossed flight paths harmlessly, missing collisions by inches, it seemed. A brown squirrel with an aging tail(or tale, either way) switches between scaling houses and tight-rope-running all over the phone lines.

That squirrel would soon be preparing for hibernation, and those birds would soon be heading south, leaving the green trees to grow orange and red and yellow and all sorts of mixtures of beautiful colors. The spine-tingling chill of the night air will soon decide to stick around the next day, and pants will become an obligation. This all seems so new to me. By no means will this be a cold winter for me, though.

7:58 p.m. - Sunday, Aug. 22, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alkalinetrio
coldsnowden
bsebastian
emodarling
iamanemokid
raininabag
sebastian18
sneed
stellarhun
swtpea4evr
wallawina