hildeguardog's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Should I go to Columbia, in New York City

My name is Scott Brehman and I was born and raised in Chicago, Illinois by two unhappily married adults of near-opposite backgrounds. I idolized my brother, John, without even knowing him. In 6th grade I came across www.diaryland.com, which John was a member of, apparently. Within days I had started my own and ever since I have been keeping at least one, updating consistently. I am currently taking two English classes without such a requirement being mandated.

I have been physically active longer than I can remember anything else. From kindergarten to 8th grade I played in numerous leagues hosting sports such as baseball, basketball, soccer, flag football, golf, and tennis. I ran cross country in my sophomore year at Whitney Young as well.

I didn�t get into too many extracurricular activities that didn�t pertain to sports until I learned to play guitar during the summer before freshman year. I made a band with three other friends soon after I started learning which forced me to become decent faster than I would have otherwise. I took guitar as a class last year and still play it regularly.
Art, like music, caught my attention at an early age. I took several classes at the Lill Street Gallery here in Chicago before it closed. I completed the necessary credit in art during my freshman year but I decided to take video production this year. It is one of my favorite classes to go to every day and I plan on taking another art class next year.

As for clubs, I was briefly involved with the Hacky Sack Club in the beginning of my first year in high school but I didn�t stick with it because of other commitments. Last year, though, I was voted Secretary of the Seinfeld Club by the other members of the club.

Whitney Young really made everything I took part in a possibility, which most people take for granted. Along with Whitney Young, I was accepted into the Lincoln Park Baccalaureate Program and Jones College Prep, two of Chicago�s most highly regarded high schools. I chose Whitney for its atmosphere over its academics. I was well-aware that Whitney Young is known as one of the best schools in the country, but from taking a look myself I knew it was more diverse than all the other schools I looked at.

This year is shaping up to be my best year of high school yet. Along with a comfortable schedule with trustworthy and helpful teachers, I am balancing a job at Whole Foods Market that has me working close to full-time every week. I find myself in a better position to get homework done when I am only given a certain amount of time. I�m also saving up money to decrease the financial burden that my going to college potentially places on my family.

Lately, aside from school, I have been paying close attention to the upcoming election. Although never objectively, I really get both sides of each story with my Father being a Republican and my mother being a Democrat. I realize that I can not vote, but I�m still pulling for Kerry. I don�t agree with him on everything but I think he�s more logical than George Bush. I really think that a woman, if not several women, should make the final ruling over abortion laws, considering that women give birth more often. The Republicans, and lots of people in general, argue that same-sex relations or marriage isn�t natural, which confuses me to no end. The world will not get any better without change, and what good is change if it goes repressed or unrecognized? Of course it�s natural for two members of the same sex to fall in love; it�s even been known in other animals.

That�s enough about politics, though. Bringing up �the war in Iraq� in any conversation will only drag it on unnecessarily long. Once I am done with my career as a student I plan on living as a writer, possibly having to do with journalism, or as a musician. I am very eager to see what lies ahead of me and I hope I can commit to four years the Big Apple.

7:46 p.m. - Thursday, Sept. 30, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alkalinetrio
coldsnowden
bsebastian
emodarling
iamanemokid
raininabag
sebastian18
sneed
stellarhun
swtpea4evr
wallawina