hildeguardog's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beach Community

I don't know if I've ever started anything with "I've been thinking a lot about [something]" but I don't know if that's a valid way to start something anymore.

Smart phones and social media and music and commercials and television have consumed so much of my waking mental bandwidth that I don't know the last time I've casually thought about something to its end. I've had thoughts, sure. But I don't remember the last time I've thought about something for an extended period of time and without interruption. When reading, sure, but even then, my phone is by my side with the ostensible reason of needing a dictionary handy. Since I don't own a physical copy of a dictionary, but I do have a dictionary app on my phone, that's a simple solution. But it's not infrequent that I grab my phone to look up "evanescent" or "uncouth" and see that I have a notification from Facebook, or an email, so I check that first. Then I get sidetracked. Even now, I'm tempted to see how the Bulls are doing. Why? I don't fucking know. They don't have a promising team this year. Better example: the World Series this year. Like the election, I wish both parties would lose. The Indians logo is racist as fuck and they're a rival of the White Sox, but also fuck the Cubs, and if the Cubs win then Chicago may very well burn to the goddamn ground. And yet I feel obliged to keep tabs on both.

That's all I have to say about that.

7:20 p.m. - Thursday, Oct. 27, 2016

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alkalinetrio
coldsnowden
bsebastian
emodarling
iamanemokid
raininabag
sebastian18
sneed
stellarhun
swtpea4evr
wallawina